# MASA DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD



## **Past Recipients**

- 2019 Janet Mohr
- 2018 Governor Mark Dayton
- 2017 Charlie Kyte & Ken Dragseth
- 2016 John Kline
- 2015 LeRoy Stumpf
- 2014 Arne Carlson
- 2013 Mindy Greiling
- 2012 Mary Cecconni
- 2011 Robert H. Bruininks
- 2010 David Walsh
- 2009 James McCormick
- 2008 Al Quie
- 2007 Donald M. Fraser & Arthur J.
- Rolnick 2006 John B. Davis
- 2006 John B. Davis 2005 John Gunyou & Jay
- Kiedrowski
- 2004 Jim Luoma
- 2003 Howard Casmey
- 2002 Neal Nickerson
- 2001 Tom Melcher
- 2000 Tom Nelson & Dan Bryan
- 1999 Robert Wedl
- 1998 Don Vellenga & John
- Roche
- **1997** Doug Skor & Glen Shaw **1996** Arthur Naftalin
- **1996** Arthur Naftalin **1995** No recipient
- **1995** No recipient **1994** No recipient
- **1993** Madden's Resort
- **1992** James J. Renier
- **1991** Ralph Brynelson
- 1990 Philip Tanney
- **1989** Willard Baker
- **1988** Erling Johnson
- 1987 No recipient
- **1986** Ralph Brynelson &
- Governor Rudy Perpich
- 1985 Murrae Freng
- **1984** Roger Erickson, WCCO Radio
- 1983 Bill Wettergren & John Feda



# Background

MASA has periodically selected recipients to receive the MASA Distinguished Service Award. The award is presented at the MASA Spring Conference.

# **Selection Criteria**

The recipient of the Distinguished Service Award will:

- Have a positive history/association with Minnesota public education. This history/association may be directly tied to the learning process such as practicing administrator, teacher, etc. OR indirectly such as legislator, professional organization employee, member of the media, etc.
- 2. Have contributed/participated in activities that improve Minnesota's public education system on a statewide basis.
- 3. Have a reputation as a person that willingly goes the extra mile.

## **Selection Procedure**

- 1. Any member of MASA may nominate a person for this award using the MASA nominating form.
- 2. Nominations must be made by January 6, 2020.
- 3. The MASA Executive Committee will review the nominations and recommend a recipient or recipients to the Board of Directors.

## The Award

- 1. The award will be made at the MASA Spring Conference.
- 2. The recipient will be presented with an individual plaque and certificate.
- 3. A news release will be distributed to pertinent media in the coverage area of the recipient(s).

## NOTE: Please save to your computer before using the text boxes to fill out the form.

# MASA Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form

If you are nominating someone other than yourself for this award, it is recommended that you notify that person of the nomination.

Date			
Nominee's Name			
Job Title and Organization			
Email			
List those who should be notified	if this person is selected - med	a contacts, communications staff, board	d chair, etc.:
Name	Organization	Email	

## **Biographical & Background Information**

Please list or provide a brief description of the nominee's *employment history, educational background, professional organizational involvement and leadership roles outside of their district/organization, and honors and/or awards received.* Please spell out any organizational acronyms. (Limit to last five years). This information will be used in the news release if the nominee is selected for this award. Please attach an electronic copy of the biographical and background information to your submission email.

#### **Selection Questions**

Please provide a description of *why you believe the nominee is deserving of consideration for this award*. Please include examples of the nominee's *history/association and significant achievements and/or contributions to Minnesota public education*. Please attach an electronic copy of the selection questions to your submission email.

Return the nomination application via email to dchristians@mnasa.org by January 6, 2020.