Minnesota Association of School Administrators

1884 Como Avenue • Saint Paul, Minnesota 55108 • (651) 645-6272

News Release For Immediate Release: February 22, 2019

Contact: Mia Urick, <u>urickm@mnasa.org</u>
Director of Professional Learning

(651) 645-6272

Superintendent Cindy Amoroso Receives Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award

(St. Paul, MN) – The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) has named Cindy Amoroso, Superintendent of the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District, the recipient of the 2019 Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award. The award recognizes excellent leadership and involvement in MASA and other educational organizations by an administrator who is a woman. Amoroso will be honored for her leadership, concern for students and active involvement in professional and community affairs at a statewide recognition ceremony during the MASA/MASE Spring Conference, March 7-8, 2019, at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest in Brooklyn Park.

"Cindy shows professional courage that has led to positive change within our district. Her vision for leadership development has increased capacity for all building leaders to impact staff development and student learning," said Jeff Nepsund, Principal of Vista View Elementary in the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District. "Cindy truly believes and strives to live out our district's vision: 'Each Student. Future Ready. Community Strong,' and she has worked extremely hard to push us all forward as we continue to positively impact student learning, our families, and our community."

Amoroso has more than 30 years of experience in public education. She has served as the Superintendent for the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District since July 2017. Prior to the superintendency, she served four years as the district's Assistant Superintendent. During her career, Amoroso served as an educational assistant, teacher, assistant principal, and director of curriculum and instruction. She has more than 20 years of cabinet-level leadership for teaching and learning, and in collaboration with building principals, to increase student achievement.

Amoroso has 12 years of successful experience leading continuous improvement efforts based on the creation and implementation of a District Strategic Roadmap and Scorecard model aimed at raising achievement for all students. She had also led the implementation of one of the first district-wide North Central Association (NCA) continuous improvement models.

Amoroso co-founded a community-based non-profit organization, Greater Mankato Early Learning Initiative (GMELI), which focuses on creating urgency in the community for significant change in policy and practice to increase kindergarten readiness. She also developed an instructional support team by adding and coaching support positions in English Language Learners (ELL), Title 1, gifted/talented, professional development, assessment, career and technical education, curriculum, and literacy to create an Instructional Support department to work collaboratively with principals and their teams.

Amoroso co-founded the Curriculum Leaders of Minnesota (CLM), which was formed to address the professional development and networking needs of district-level administrators working in curriculum, instruction, and assessment. The group has become a formal component group of MASA.

"Cindy is constantly making connections between our decisions, budget, and their impact on student learning, instruction, and our school community with knowledge and tact," said Abigail Alt, School Board Member of the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District. "Cindy asks the tough questions and demands forthright answers, especially when these conversations challenge our status quo. She sets a strong tone and expectation that we are all in this together for all students."

Amoroso has received various awards including the 2011 MASA Outstanding Central Office Leader Award, 2006 NCA John Vaughn Excellence in Education Award, and the 2002 Mankato Chamber of Commerce Volunteer Award.

Amoroso is an active member of the MASA and AASA. She served on the MASA Board of Directors from 2004-2010. Amoroso is a current member of the Burnsville Noon Rotary Club, both the Savage and Burnsville Chambers of Commerce, and was an active member of the Greater Area Mankato United Way.

Amoroso received a bachelor's degree in Teaching for Elementary Education and Secondary English, a master's

degree in Curriculum and Instruction, and a specialist degree in Educational Administration from Minnesota State University-Mankato.

The Memorial Award was established in 1983 in honor of Kay E. Jacobs, an outstanding young administrator of many achievements who died in a car accident in 1979. At the time of her death, Ms. Jacobs was the assistant superintendent for the Mahtomedi Schools and had just been nominated, through a national screening process, for membership in the 38th Annual Superintendents' Work Conference at Teachers' College, Columbia University. This was a distinct honor, because only forty-five outstanding chief school officers from school systems throughout the United States had been invited to participate. The Memorial Award recognizes women administrators who have demonstrated the attributes of leadership and involvement early in their careers as Kay Jacobs did.

Each year, MASA recognizes members for their contribution to public education. MASA is a professional organization of Minnesota's school leaders, including superintendents, assistant superintendents, directors of special education, and other central office administrators, as well as state department administrators, college and university professors, and other educators throughout Minnesota dedicated to educational leadership for students.